If you do not see your specific question below, please contact us.
Real Estate Licensing Questions (Maine)
Question-What's the first step to getting a license in Maine?
Answer-You must sucessfully complete the 55-hour Sales Agent Course, then sucessfully pass the Sales Agent State Exam. We offer the required 55-hour course ($395.00 including books). Within this course you will have 3-4 quizzes, homework and a final exam. Based on your grades you must pass this course with a grade of 75% or better. You will have 1 year in which to then pass the state exam with a grade of 75% or better. You will have one year after that in which you need to find an agency to work with and you can apply for the sales agent license.
Question-What would be my next step after that?
Answer-The sales agent license is a 2-year license only. If you are going to stay in the business then you must upgrade to an associate broker license. You do this by taking and passing the 60-hour Associate Broker course. You must also complete the Documented Field Experience Form. Once this is done your sales agent license can be upgraded to an associate broker license at the end of the 2 year sales agent license.
The associate broker license is renewed every two years (21 hours of continuing education with each renewal).
Question-Is the associate broker license the end of my real estate education?
Answer-You can stay an associate broker indefinitely or upgrade to full broker after having been an associate broker for one full year. You do have to take and pass the 45-hour broker course. However, there is no additional state exam.
Real Estate Appraisal Questions (Maine & New Hampshire)
Question-How do I obtain a real estate appraisal license?
Answer-In order to obtain a real estate appraisal license, the states of Maine and New Hampshire require the successful completion of 75 hours of AQB-approved qualifying education. Fifteen hours of the required qualifying education must be an approved Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) course.
The minimum requirement to qualify for an appraiser trainee license is the successful completion of 75 classroom hours.
Within the 5 years immediately preceding application for the trainee license, complete a cumulative total of 75 hours, 15 hours of which must be for USPAP.
Then make arrangements to work under the direct supervision of a certified residential real property appraiser or certified general real property appraiser who meets the qualifications for supervisor.
(Special Note: The Trainee's supervisor is required by Chapter 230, Section 1 (A)(3) of the Board's rules, to personally inspect each appraised property with the trainee for a minimum of the first fifty (50) appraisals AND until the supervisor determines that the trainee is competent in accordance with the Competency Rule of Uniform Standrads of Professional Appraisal Practice for the property type.)
Question-I would like to take an internet based appraisal continuing education course. If I have questions about the course content who would I contact?
Answer-Contact the Arthur Gary School of Real Estate, 207-856-1712, and speak to Arthur Gary. If they are not in the office we will have the instructor call the student back as soon as possible.